top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureFaith Haines

30th of March

This week I am going to look at the different platforms I could use to put on an online event or do an event witch means we don't have to be close to people. I am going to try out each different platform and then I will write out my findings and post it on here for you all to read.


1. Virtual music events directory

- This is an introductory forward discussing how the music - industry mindset around live-streaming.

- There is a list of tools that we can use to host virtual shows, panels, and meetups.

- There is also a list of virtual/ live stream events.

- Because of the pandemic, tens of thousands of events have been canceled.

- there are lots of lots of things on these platforms so here are a few free websites to use for example:

Zoom

Instagram live

Facebook live

Linkedin live

Google Hangout

I have either seen people use 4 of these and heard of them all. they seen like they are very useful and do the job they are intended to do.

- There are also free to play platforms you can use for example:

Twitch

YouNOW

Mixer

Caffeine

Perscope

Youtube live

I have seen people use 2 of these platforms but I not in that much detail so I am not sure out of this witch would be the best to use.

- there are also ticketed/ paywalled events going on and some of the platforms are:

Run the world

Moment house

This is the Beginning of my research

Key

Crowd cast

They are very organised and the colors fit into the logo.

there are many more of these they all seem great but I have never used nor seen someone use these.

- there are also ticketed/ paywalled events going on and some of the platforms are: is a lot of helpful information, I think it would be better if it was laid out differently. I get that this isn't meant to be visually appealing but it would make it a better read if there we different things than just a huge block of writing.



2. Virtual/ online for creative industries

  • This is a summary of some of the online resources you can access on the internet to support you while you are studying at home.


  • Online course

Coursere

MOOCs ( Massive open online courses)

Artsy ( 10 university art classes)

TEDx talks


  • Virtual tours of museums

Google art project

Places of Versailles: Versailles, France

And so many more different museums are doing this all around the world.


  • Art experiences

Kusama’s infinity mirrors

Banksy murals around the world

Van Gogh’s starry night at the museum of modern art in New York City


  • There are so many different theaters that are doing very different experiences and thing you can choose from to take part in.


This resource is very helpful and really interesting to find out that the different parts of the Arts are doing different things to help try and entertain that people at home who have been laid of work because of this pandemic and it is great to see the huge variety that they are giving you the chance to be a part of.


3. Social distancing festival:

  • This is a website to celebrate art from all over the world, they have different sections for Features, Visual arts, Dance, Music, and Theatre/ Musicals/ opera.

  • There are loads of upcoming events that will be live-streamed across the whole world for people to watch or to be part of.

  • There is music you can listen to and read about all different things.

  • There are videos of people in a choir in Italy and the links will be below.

  • They have a Facebook page


  • They post very regularly.



Today witch is the 31st of March I had a call with Phil and we discussed the work I submitted last week he said that I should carry on the way I am with that. As you know from me talking about it last week I have to change my original ideas.

We also talked about the ideas I had for my FMP and we were going through some ideas I could do and we work up to a music blog.

So I am going to do a music blog as my FMP, the reason we got to this was Phil asked me to list music I listen to and I just listed a range of different types and because of my broad taste in music it was the perfect fit.


The thing I am going to with my music blog are:

  • Post regular updates

  • Links to music

  • Different sections for different music types

  • Wix page with blog

  • Make Spotify playlists

  • Do reviews on different music

  • Talk about how the music industry changes and adapts to the things that are going on in the time, for example, this pandemic and also when records started to be online.


For my research, I am going to look at music blogs and see how they have set out the website and what topics they are talking about and the different things they post.


I am going to use my social media to promote my blog and get my friends to do the same so I can get a bigger audience.


This is the Begining of my resuerch:


  1. The Grape Juice

  • There is a lot of adverts for other companies on it.

  • They have a brows button with:

About TGJ, Release Date, The World, From the Vault, Advertise, Meet the makers, Contact us, Reviews, Features Articles, The Word, Freshly Squeezed, The Over Flow, Cover Star, The Splash, Privacy Policy, and Archives.

  • Their home has there the newest post on.

  • They have three shows, The splash, The word, and the Sip podcast.

  • They have interviews with loads of different people for example:

  • Dinah Jane

  • Eddie Murphy

  • Lana Del Ray

  • Jax Jones

  • The O’Jays

  • Fluer East

  • Rak-Su

  • Afrojack

  • And so many more people

  • They have a shop with different merch like t-shirts and mugs.



2. Pop Justice

  • This one is a lot less cluttered than the first one.

  • Still got adverts for other websites on it, but not as many.

  • There are a few playlists.

  • Their home page has there newest posts on it.

  • They have different pages called:

  • Briefing

  • Features

  • Playlists

  • About

  • Forum

  • They have an Email, Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, and Spotify.

  • They have four playlists

  • 2018% solid pop music

  • Big hit energy

  • New Music Friday

  • 21st-century pop




3. A&R Factory

  • They are very organized and the colors fit into the logo.

  • They have a Home, Submit Music, Virtual Music Consultancy, Subscribe and contacts.

  • They have videos and a lot of different posts about different people in music.

  • They have awards like:

  • Top blog for music lovers

  • Vuelio Top 10 blog three times in a row

  • Award for top 100

  • Award for top 50 twice

  • They have Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Linkedin.

  • They started in 2012

  • They help music industry professionals discover new independent music across the world.

  • Their readership includes:

  • Record Labels

  • Publishers

  • Management Companies

  • Radios stations

  • PR and Sync companies from all across the world

  • They have a small number of adverts on the site.



4. Gold Flake Paint

  • At first look, it looks great and very professional.

  • Their layout is so cool and very fancy.

  • It doesn’t look like they have any ads.

  • They have buttons called Albums, song conversations, and features.

  • They have Spotify recommendations.

  • They have people’s sessions which are on YouTube. The last video was posted 6 months ago.

  • They have a Facebook and it has 12K likes.

  • They have a twitter as well.

  • They look a lot of very unknown artists.



5. UKF

  • The layout is very plain but it works well with the color.

  • They have a news button witch has Featured, Audio and more.

  • There is an explore button with Artists, labels, Genres, and UKF on Air.

  • They have made podcasts, I looked into it more and they have made 124 podcasts.

  • They have a list of past events and because of the pandemic, there is no list of upcoming events.

  • They have Facebook, Instagram, Youtube, Twitter, Mixcloud, Soundcloud, Spotify, and Apple Music.

  • They have a store which sells lots of different merch and Albums.

  • They have a direct message system connected to Facebook.



6. We Plug Good Music

  • They have adverts for the university of Plymouth.

  • They have buttons for:

  • Home

  • About us

  • Feathers

  • Reviews

  • WPGM radios

  • Digital PR / Publicity

  • Advertise

  • Work with us

  • They have a Twitter, Facebook, and LinkedIn

  • Under About Us is the editorial team and contact.

  • Under Features is Artist Features, Best new music, Commentary, Special Features.

  • Under reviews are Album reviews, EP reviews, and Live reviews.



7. XS Noize

  • They have a little news rail at the top of the pages.

  • They have Album reviews, Book reviews, Classic albums, round up, track of the day and live reviews.

  • They have featured under that is

  • Top ten

  • Mixing-desk

  • Competitions

  • In focus

  • Deep dive

  • Exclusive

  • Video premieres

  • Xs unsigned

  • Near to hear

  • They have interviews with

  • Matt Mason

  • Andy Cairns

  • John power

  • And so many more people

  • They have Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, and Pinterest.


There will be more research done next week and I will share my finding.

My plan for next week is to finish off doing this research and they start to create my music blog. My first post will be explaining why i have made it and then talk about some topic i want to talk about.

I also want to get an Instergram page and a Facebook page set up for my blog but that might have to be a project for next week as I think i have a lot on my list for next week.


See you next Friday

Faith x



4 views0 comments
bottom of page